Originally posted on chronicles of harriet:

THE LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY BLACK PEOPLE

For as long as I can remember, I have been a fan of what is now called Steampunk – a mash-up of fantasy and science fiction that embraces a fantastical past while incorporating a spirit of progress, exploration and do-it-yourself ingenuity.

Always a voracious reader, I devoured Jules Verne’s novels – From the Earth to the Moon; 20,000 Leagues under the Sea; and Around the World in 80 Days. One of my childhood rituals was to sit at the feet of my mother and, together, we would watch Wild, Wild West. My mother, a huge fan of westerns (she has probably seen every western ever made in English…yes, really) and comedic spy stories (Get Smart and I Spy are her favorites) was in heaven.

In my preteens, I was the first of my friends to break away from Dungeons and Dragons…

View original 2,464 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

