Invisible Universe

aslioctavia_600aslinichelle_600asliken_600aslichip_600

It is my pleasure and honor to present my interview with fimmaker and the creator of Invisible Universe: Asli Dukan!

Asli, tell us about yourself.
My name is M. Asli Dukan and I am a filmmaker from New York City.

Introduce us to the Invisible Universe. How did this project come into being?
I began Invisible Universe when I decided to attend and then document a Black Sci-Fi conference at Howard University in 2003. The invited guests were Samuel R. Delany, Octavia E. Butler, Steven Barnes, Tananarive Due and Nalo Hopkinson. Octavia was also the guest of honor and did her own separate talk and Q&A session. I had been a long time fan of Octavia, I think I had begun reading her Xenogenesis trilogy when I was 18 or 19, so it was a real pleasure to finally meet her. As for the project, I thought originally to do a documentary about Black Sci-Fi writers, but my great love is film, and since I had studied film and film production in grad school, I decided to expand the subject matter to include it, and then eventually to comics, another great love from my youth.

When can we expect this groundbreaking film?
The film will be completed later in 2014. I have been working on it, off and on for 10 years, shooting when I had the budget to do so, and honestly I could continue shooting because there is so much more going than when I first began the project. There has been an explosion in the amount of Black creators out there, whether writers, filmmakers, artists, academics, it’s really been interesting to witness and document this growth. I am however making an executive decision to finish it this year and that in and of itself is very exciting to me, to finally put it together and get it out of my head.

How can we help bring Invisible Universe to life? The best way for supporters of this project to help is to contribute to and spread the word about my current IndieGoGo campaign. It’s purpose is to get through post-production and get a cut of the film together, so I can move to the next levels like festivals and distribution. http://igg.me/at/invisibleuniversedoc/x/80589

Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?
I just would like to thank everyone who has ever supported me in the past in regards to this project. I really could not have gotten as far along with it, if it wasn’t for this support which has come in so many different forms, from financial donations, to even a place to sleep. The Black Speculative Fiction community is awesome!

Pictures from left to right with Asli: Octavia E. Butler, Nichelle Nichols, Ken Foree, Samuel R. Delany, Invisble Universe Logo

One Reply to “Invisible Universe”

Leave a Reply

